Smaller Government – Immigration and Border Protection efficiencies

From 1 July 2016, a simple framework will be introduced for the skilled and temporary activity visa programmes.

This Budget measure is subject to the passage of legislation.

Description of the measure

Currently there are 25 types of temporary, provisional and permanent skilled visas. This will be reduced to 9 new types of visas.

Eligibility for welfare payments and Medicare will not change. Migrants who are granted one of the new permanent visas will have access to payments as long as they meet individual payment and residency requirements.

Questions and answers

Who is affected by this measure

People entering Australia through the skilled migration programme. This includes migrants who enter on permanent visas as well as temporary skilled visa applicants.

For more information visit the Department of Immigration and Border Protection website.

Who is eligible for this measure

Some people entering Australia through the skilled migration programme may be eligible for welfare payments and Medicare services. Migrants must meet specific requirements to be eligible.

For more information visit the Payments for visa holders webpage.

The date this measure will start and finish

This measure will commence on 1 July 2016 and is ongoing.

We’re testing a new website design. Try it out and tell us what you think. Read more about changes to this site.

Page last updated: 15 March 2016

This information was printed Saturday 19 August 2017 from It may not include all of the relevant information on this topic. Please consider any relevant site notices at when using this material.