How the Indigenous Apprenticeships Program works

A pathway for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples to start their career in the Australian Public Service (APS).

Applications have now closed.

About the program

The Indigenous Apprenticeships Program (IAP) is a 12 month program that offers a:

  • permanent, full-time, entry level job
  • competitive salary
  • nationally recognised certificate or diploma qualification.

We offer different jobs in:

  • administration
  • policy and program development
  • service delivery
  • finance
  • Human Resources
  • Information Technology.

You can also find out more about the IAP at one of our information sessions.

Recruitment level

The APS classifies jobs at different levels.

We recruit at the APS2 and APS3 levels. We’ll consider you for both levels in our recruitment process.

Once you complete the program, you’ll move up to the next APS level at your agency.

Read more about role classifications in the Classifications and work level standards on the Australian Public Service Commission website.

Apprenticeship qualifications

If you're an APS2 apprentice, you'll complete a Certificate IV.

If you're an APS3 apprentice, you'll complete a Diploma in Government.

Jobs and placements

You can apply for a role in one or more locations. We’ll place you in a job and location based on your preferences and our business needs.

We’ll consider your application for all participating departments, based on your preferences.

If you’re successful, we may offer you a job in more than one department. You can pick which best suits you.

Once you start your placement, you’ll be expected to work from that location for the duration of the program.

Participating departments

The program offers a range of roles across a number of APS departments.

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

AIATSIS is a research, collections and publishing organisation. They affirm and raise awareness of the richness and diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories.

Read more on the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies website.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)

The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency. They provide data about a range of economic, social, population and environmental matters.

Read more on the Australian Bureau of Statistics website.

Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)

ASIC is Australia’s corporate, markets and finance services regulator. They protect Australian consumers.

Read more on the Australian Securities and Investments Commission website.

Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade)

Austrade is Australia’s lead agency for international trade promotion and investment attraction.

Read more on the Australian Trade and Investment Commission website.

Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA)

CASA regulates Australian aviation safety. They license pilots, register aircraft and oversee safety.

Read more on the Civil Aviation Safety Authority website.


Comcare works with employees and employers to manage risk in the workplace, improve recovery and return to work. They also promote the health benefits of work through good work design.

Read more on the Comcare website.

Defence Housing Australia (DHA)

DHA provides quality housing and related services for Defence Force Personnel and their families.

Read more on the Defence Housing Australia website.

Department of Agriculture

The Department of Agriculture (Agriculture) develops and implements policies and programs to ensure Australia’s agriculture, fisheries, food and forestry industries remain competitive and sustainable.

Read more on the Department of Agriculture website.

Department of Communications and the Arts

The Department of Communications and the Arts aims to make digital technologies, communication services and cultural experiences better for everyone.

Read more on the Department of Communications and the Arts website.

Department of Defence (DoD)

DoD defends Australia and its national interests. They support the Royal Australian Navy, Australian Army and Royal Australian Air Force personnel to do their job.

Read more on the Department of Defence website.

Department of Education

The Department of Education is responsible for programs that help Australians access education and training. These include affordable early child care and childhood education. The Department of Education is also responsible for school education, higher education, vocational education and training, international education and research.

Read more on the Department of Education website.

Department of Finance (DoF)

DoF plays an important role in assisting government across a range of policy areas to ensure they meet outcomes.

Read more on the Department of Finance website.

Department of Health (DoH)

DoH develops, implements and oversees policy and programs in the areas of health, aged care and sport.

Read more on the Department of Health website.

Department of Home Affairs (Home Affairs)

Home Affairs responds to terrorism, cyber threats and organised crime. They manage migration and humanitarian programs, facilitate trade and travel, and manage responses to natural disasters.

Read more on the Department of Home Affairs website.

Department of Human Services (DHS)

We deliver payments and services on behalf of Centrelink, Child Support and Medicare.

Read more on our About Us page.

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development (DITCRD)

DITCRD is responsible for the Australian Government’s infrastructure, transport and regional development policies and programs.

Read more on the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities website.

Department of Parliamentary Services (DPS)

DPS provides services and products to support the running of Australia’s Parliament. DPS is one of four departments supporting Parliament.

Read more on the Department of Parliamentary Services website.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C)

PM&C’s role is to provide advice regarding issues so that government can implement their policies successfully.

Read more on the Prime Minister and Cabinet website.

Department of Social Services (DSS)

DSS aims to support and improve the lives and wellbeing of individuals and families in Australia.

Read more on the Department of Social Services website.

Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA)

DVA provides support and services for:

  • war veterans
  • Australian Defence Force personnel
  • war widows and widowers
  • certain members of the Australian Federal Police.

Read more on the Department of Veterans' Affairs website.

National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA)

NDIA is responsible for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS). The NDIS supports Australians with a disability and their families and carers.

Read more on the National Disability Insurance Agency website.

More agencies may come on board in the coming months. Bookmark this page and check for updates on the program’s new partner agencies.

Page last updated: 20 September 2019